Catering & Halls
Put-in-Bay Yacht Club--419-285-4505
The Crew's Nest--419-285-3625
Put-in-Bay Brewing Co.--419-285-HOPS
Tables & Chairs
Put-in-Bay Yacht Club--419-285-4505
Village Bakery (closed during winter)--419-285-5351
Connie's Wedding Cakes
Massage, Nails, Facial
Island Tour Train (can rent for a large number of guests)
Ohio no longer requires a blood test and there is no waiting period,
but there are restrictions on age, closeness of kinship between the
couple, prior marriages being dissolved and where you must purchase
your Marriage License. For information on
Ohio Marriage Laws, click on the link. Ohio also does not
require witnesses to the marriage.
Ohio residents may purchase their Marriage License at their county's
Out of state residents must purchase their Marriage Licenses at the
Ottawa County Courthouse in Port Clinton, OH. Put-in-Bay is located
in Ottawa County and that is why non-Ohio residents are required to
purchase their license here.
The Ottawa County Courthouse is located at 315 Madison Street, in Port
Clinton, OH 43452. You can reach the Probate Court Clerk at
419-734-6830. The office is on the third floor and is open 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through
- Applying for a
Both individuals must
apply for their Marriage License together. The Probate Court
requires you to identify yourself. Take your Birth
Certificate and a form of government issued identification such as
a drivers license, visa, passport or state issued ID. Make sure
you know your
social security numbers.
You do not have to be a resident of
Ohio, but if you are not a resident, you must get married in the
county where the license is obtained. If you are an Ohio resident
then at least one of you must be a resident of the county in
which you are applying. Ohio residents may use the license
anywhere in the state. All licenses are valid for 60 days.
The Ohio Revised Code
statue 3101.05 requires that any applicant for a marriage
license who is a minor must provide proof of having had marriage
counseling prior to applying for the license. The counseling can
be provided by clergy or a person licensed by the State of Ohio to
provide counseling. Proof of counseling may be in the form of a
letter to the Court from the person who provided the counseling on
his or her letterhead.
individuals need to bring a certified copy of his/her divorce decree or a
copy of a deceased spouse's death certificate.
Marriage License fees are
about $50, but could be more or less depending on the county.
Payment must be made in cash, although some Ohio counties will
accept a Money Order. Contact the Ottawa County Courthouse at
419-734-6830 for more information.
Common Law Marriages are
no longer recognized by the State of Ohio unless the couple entered into
a common law marriage before October 10, 1991.
Click here to find the marriage license contact for your
Planning a day visit:
It is not impracticable to plan a day visit to Put-in-Bay to get
married, especially if it is just the couple or the couple and a few
friends and/or family. There are several very nice public spots to
get married, including the Gazebo in DeRivera Park which overlooks
the downtown harbor.
We have married couples who have come to the island in casual attire
and brought along a camcorder to record their ceremony. We have also
married couples who have brought along a few friends, or their
children from previous unions, and have had a nice ceremony in the
you do plan to change clothes however, you need to plan ahead if you
are not planning to stay overnight. There is a bathhouse in the park
where you can change. Many of the island gift shops sell film and
disposable cameras, but no one carries digital camera media and no
one we are a aware of sells video tape.
We suggest you make a checklist of everything you will need for the
day and then pack accordingly. Do not assume you will be able to
pick up any last minute items on the island. For example, the island
does not have a pharmacy. The grocery store carries over the counter
products, but does not carry a line of make up products.